So this last week in March has been fun. The kids had the whole week off for spring break. My husband got a message from my brother Travis saying he was headed down to visit us on his way to Utah after working in North Dakota for the last four months. Everyone was excited to see him. Barry took a couple days of leave so he could spend this week with the family. We enjoyed sleeping in, no schoolwork, and doing whatever popped into our heads that needed done around the house. We have a list a mile long but we just did what ever we felt like doing.

     

Our geese are getting huge, fast. The chickens and ducks are very entertaining to watch. We filled the bathtub with water and let the ducks and geese have a good time. They don’t have all their feathers in yet so we spent some time drying them off before we put them back out in the coup. It is still too cold at night to leave them in the coup. We have mostly secured the coup but we have more preparations to make before we let the girls stay out there permanently. When we bought the chicks we introduced them to Sampson our dog. He did really well with them even though he was licking his chops all the time. We have had the birds since February and Sampson has gotten used to them.

 

      

So here is a funny story for you. Sampson is quite the Houdini. We have this awesome outbuilding on our property. It has two separate areas inside. The dog house, and the chicken house. Then there is fenced in outdoor areas attached to said building. The dog yard, the little dog yard, and the chicken coup, (The coup is fully closed off with fencing all the way to the roof and we keep the birds here during the day.) So last year when we bought our dog I took him to the humane society to get neutered and he had that big stupid, shin destroying cone on his head, and we were supposed to keep that thing on him for about ten days. Well about three days into the journey I had to go pick up my mother in law from the airport, (Disclosure -our dog is incapable of staying in the house when we leave. He thinks the big bad animals outside might eat us and he just goes bonkers.) so I decided to put him in the dog yard. (He had previously found a way out but I was smarter then him and put cement cinder blocks in front of the weak part of the fence, and hammered stakes in across the fence line, and he had that giant cone on his head!!!) I thought there was no way he would be able to get out. I was gone for about 1 1/2 hours and as I pulled into my driveway, there sits Sampson, happy as can be that he is waiting to greet us, sitting in front of the garage and not in the yard. Sampson looked great but the cone, not so great. So, fast forward to yesterday. We had friends and neighbors over to play paintball, which we have done before. Last time we did this I put Sampson in the small yard which he hasn’t figured out how to escape from yet. So yesterday I did the same. I walked away and my group started hiking out to the back property line.  About  one minute later Sampson had jumped the fence and joined the party. So I walked back and put Samson in the dog house, (note previous explanation). This worked much better. We played for a couple hours and cleaned up. Then I went to get Sampson. He was not in the dog house anymore. I found him in the coup. In the picture above you see the coup and a door that leads to the dog house. It is a heavy door that hinges from the top but the latch is bent and it was just left hanging. Someone please tell me how my dog who has no fingers or thumbs mind you, got that door open and wiggled his way into the coup??? Seriously smart puppy.

 Just look at him! He is big Bahahahahaha!

So nature had the best of us today. March 31st my yard looked like this!

Spring right? Beautiful! But April 1st, it looked like this.

 

About Trisha Perkins

Hi, my name is Trisha Perkins. I was born in St. George Ut, and raised in many different places. California, Texas, Panama, North Carolina, and Utah have all been home for me. My family moved back to St. George Ut after my father left the army. I was home schooled most of my school years, then enrolled for long distance schooling from an accredited high school. I taught gymnastics and swimming for 3 years. Then I realized I wanted to learn more about children, because I didn't know enough about them and I wanted to be prepared for motherhood. I taught montessori preschool for one year, then I went to a summer camp in New Mexico to teach horse back riding. Now I have to back up a little. A couple of my friends had gone to this same summer camp to teach the year before and one of their friends from camp tagged along with them back to St. George. Here enters the Pioneer. My life would never be the same. I tapped into a soul that I didn't know the voltage of. I met Barry Perkins. He proposed to me while scuba diving off of the Californa coast. We were married in the St. George temple on October 16th 2004. We have always wanted to give our children the best education. Leadership education! We wanted to travel and let them experience different cultures and countries and read great books and be a united family. So here we are starting off on a journey of a lifetime.

2 responses »

  1. Justin Perkins says:

    Cooper just pointed me out in the paintball picture exactly where Barry is.

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Trisha Perkins says:

      Nice! You two look a lot alike. I hope Louis had a good birthday 🎉. Say hi to the boys for us!

Leave a Reply

