The other day we had family visiting and we ended up having a random Dr. Sues day. If I remember right Barry took his brother down to fly the black hawk simulator (awesome brother bonding time)!  I watched them walk out the door and then slowly turn around and now I have seven young and rowdy kids looking at me, (or not because truthfully they are running all over the house chasing each other. ) “What to do” I think to myself. Then * lightbulb! Make OObleck!

Rrrrch! ” Wait a minute. Not so fast. I seem to be recalling something? Hmm oh! It is almost there,,… ! Aha! There is work to be done first.” This shouldn’t be rocket science. Sometimes I like to blame my kids for stealing my brain heheh!  So I put the kids to work. Laundry, vacuuming, and dishes. Man, with this many kids the work gets done fast.

 

IMG_4344

Noah was really tallying up the high points for the day. He really enjoyed the work.

IMG_4342

The vacuum is just the right size for little helpers.

IMG_4343

Orrin has really improved his dishwashing skills!

Now, play time. So I pulled out the cornstarch and water and let the kids help me stir and pour.  We added a little green dye and presto! We have an ooey gooey mess, but the kids are having fun!

IMG_4349

OOObleck!

IMG_4354

IMG_4348

 

Next we make OObleck juice. I pulled out my juicer and the kids helped my wash and eat and juice.

– three lemons

-5-7 apples

IMG_4363

I think Noah, Cooper, and Louis really liked my green drink:)

-head of celery

-head of Romaine

-kale

-cucumber

-5 carrots

 

The results are delicious and nowhere to be found.

Then we headed on down to the local library, and checked out only five books. Laugh if you want, but the computers at the library were being reset.  The librarians had some very sad and long faces(The kids definitely pulled the puppy dog look),when we found out we could not take home our twenty plus books we had picked out. “Oobleck”  By Dr. Sues, made the cut though.

IMG_4366

We love our cousins!

As an added plus to the day we brought out the “fish piñata” that the kids and I had worked on last week. It turned out really cute and it was a lot more sturdy then I thought it would be. The children had many turns before it was completely pulverized by Noah in the end.

IMG_4367

Here Adrian is holding up Mr. Fish

I made sure to call all the kids together at bedtime and read to them the story they had all been waiting for.   We really had a great time!

About Trisha Perkins

Hi, my name is Trisha Perkins. I was born in St. George Ut, and raised in many different places. California, Texas, Panama, North Carolina, and Utah have all been home for me. My family moved back to St. George Ut after my father left the army. I was home schooled most of my school years, then enrolled for long distance schooling from an accredited high school. I taught gymnastics and swimming for 3 years. Then I realized I wanted to learn more about children, because I didn't know enough about them and I wanted to be prepared for motherhood. I taught montessori preschool for one year, then I went to a summer camp in New Mexico to teach horse back riding. Now I have to back up a little. A couple of my friends had gone to this same summer camp to teach the year before and one of their friends from camp tagged along with them back to St. George. Here enters the Pioneer. My life would never be the same. I tapped into a soul that I didn't know the voltage of. I met Barry Perkins. He proposed to me while scuba diving off of the Californa coast. We were married in the St. George temple on October 16th 2004. We have always wanted to give our children the best education. Leadership education! We wanted to travel and let them experience different cultures and countries and read great books and be a united family. So here we are starting off on a journey of a lifetime.

One response »

  1. Loya Gubler says:

    Thanks for the news. It was so good to hear what is going on in your family’s lives. Gramdpa is still gardening and I am making quilts. That is our boring life/. It was so good to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

