This year has been full of so many new things, and some very familiar things. On Christmas it was so nice to revisit family traditions and have friends over to sing songs and bask in the warmth of what Christ has to offer us.

We had the Reynolds family and the Pinegars over for Christmas Eve. One tradition coming from the Reynold’s family is really a treat. Pudding is served and a almond or pecan is hidden in one of the cups. The person who ends up with the nut gets to search the house over for a gift that is hidden.

Next came story time. This year I read ” The Christmas Orange”. Then we play the name game, where everyone choses a well known name other then their own. The names are mixed up and read out loud. Then we take turns guessing what name belongs to who. It becomes hilarious and we played it several times.

The story of the Christ child was read from Luke in the Bible. Our children Melody and Orrin were Mary and Joseph. Reynold’s children played the Shepard, Wise man, and the Angel. Barry pulled out his trumpet and played hymns at the appropriate times. Afterward came the hanging of the “ornaments”. ( I have cross stitched an Angel, Red Poinsettia, Candle, Wreath, Bell, Solider, and a Santa that has writing above him which says” Shhh, Teach the children the true meaning of Christmas.”). As we hang the ornaments, I tell the children what each one symbolizes. Last comes the Star.

With good nights and well wishes our friends part ways with us, then one by one we tuck the children into bed.

I love Christmas time with it’s music and season of cold where we bundle up tight and huddle together for warmth while out caroling to neighbors The love of family that draws us near to each other is more present in our minds. I have so much to be thankful for!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Trisha Perkins

Hi, my name is Trisha Perkins. I was born in St. George Ut, and raised in many different places. California, Texas, Panama, North Carolina, and Utah have all been home for me. My family moved back to St. George Ut after my father left the army. I was home schooled most of my school years, then enrolled for long distance schooling from an accredited high school. I taught gymnastics and swimming for 3 years. Then I realized I wanted to learn more about children, because I didn't know enough about them and I wanted to be prepared for motherhood. I taught montessori preschool for one year, then I went to a summer camp in New Mexico to teach horse back riding. Now I have to back up a little. A couple of my friends had gone to this same summer camp to teach the year before and one of their friends from camp tagged along with them back to St. George. Here enters the Pioneer. My life would never be the same. I tapped into a soul that I didn't know the voltage of. I met Barry Perkins. He proposed to me while scuba diving off of the Californa coast. We were married in the St. George temple on October 16th 2004. We have always wanted to give our children the best education. Leadership education! We wanted to travel and let them experience different cultures and countries and read great books and be a united family. So here we are starting off on a journey of a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

