May 1, 2009

Today Barry prepared for a scout campout. We cleaned up the boat. Barry discovered that we had water in the engine so he changed the oil. It was a really messy job. When everything was cleaned up we sailed over to Peanut Island. Barry got the food ready and I babysat it until the scouts came. Melody and Orrin had a lot of fun playing at the beach then Barry helped me anchor the boat off of Peanut Island. It was a tight fit between two other boats but we made it. This is the first time we have anchored in a different location. I can get Internet here. I sent out a bunch of e-mails then called it a night.

May 2, 2009

Finished up the scout campout on Peanut island and we played around with our bimini shade cover and determined that it does not go to our boat. It doesn’t fit anything. At least we have a frame for a bimini cover. We motored over to the Ohlson and tied up along side to do a final clean out. Everything is on Jamaica Fairwell now. We discovered that I lost Melody’s life jacket at Peanut Island after we moved up the ICW (inter coastal waterway) to the Indian town bridge. It is about 10 miles north of Phil Foster. It is also a lot closer to the church building. We grounded into the sand twice and had to pull the boat sideways with the dinghy to get it loose but after poking around with a long stick we found the cut to get to where we wanted to anchor. We towed Jamaica with the dinghy and then threw our anchor out.

May 3, 2009

We made it to the truck in one dinghy trip, with all of the boy scout stuff and the family. Church was nice. Toilet is not working right.

May 4, 2009

Did laundry at Meghan Shurtz house. Meghan gave me a dishtowel and I sewed a utensil holder out of it for our boat. I am excited to use it and get some of my counter space back and be a little more organized. I might do one more for my knives, but might do a magnetic strip instead. For dinner we were invited to a barbeque and some fun playing volley ball with the Nortons and friends at a park. Melody caught a frog at the end of the evening. She loves frogs. Melody also climbed trees and played with some of the girls. Nortons are coming over tomorrow night for some cruising up and down the waterway. This whole next week looks beautiful for sailing to the Bahamas. The Seas are two feet or less, with steady winds. We are not quite ready to go yet. We want to fix the headsail. It has a cover sewn on that is ripped and needs fixed. We would like to track down someone in the ward that has an industrial machine.

May 5, 2009

Barry fixed the toilet today, and he finished with perfect timing for our friends to arrive. Sheyla, Justin, Nina, and Loitha came tonight and sailed around while the sun set. I served them a yummy dinner that worked out perfect because we had meat that needed to be eaten. They had a great time and played cards on the cockpit table.

May 9, 2009

We sailed out the Jupiter inlet and out into the deep blue ocean. The seas were really calm. The water was so clear and florescent blue. We sailed south to West Palm Beach inlet. There were also tons of fishing vessels out. It reminded us that we should get a fishing pole and start catching our dinner. We were sailing against the Gulf Stream Current and a southeast prevailing wind. So we crammed a 10-mile trip into 20 miles. We learned more about tacking and how much we can beat to the windward with our boat. We eventually turned our engine on to reach our destination before nightfall. 

Marcello gave us two child life jackets after he got pulled over by the coast guard for not having Adult life jackets. It is exactly what I prayed for.

May 10, 2009

Mother’s day was wonderful. A special program was put together for the women in the ward. We were fed a wonderful lunch and watched a video of the service project we took part in last month. The Bishop of our ward hand wrote a individualized letter to each of the women reminding us of our unique role and responsibilities. We also filled up on water and cleaned out the bow water tank so now we have all 150 gallons at our disposal.

May 11, 2009

Today we picked up Meghan Shurtz , her kids, and her brother and sister in law and we took them over to Peanut Island. It was a gorgeous day for sailing and snorkeling. It was a very fun, and relaxing day. Sometimes we are working so hard to fix the boat or clean things up that it is really nice to have friends over so we can take a break. After dropping our friends off at Phil Foster we drove to the Nortons to do laundry. We ended up staying the night and playing a different version of Risk into all hours of the morning.

May 12, 2009

Today Sheyla drove us to Phil Foster and joined us for a day in the sun, jumping off the boat and snorkeling off Peanut Island. Melody is really loving the water and is getting better and better at swimming. Today I pulled her behind the dinghy and she had a blast. I got a turn to snorkel and loved seeing all the tropical fish. There were barracuda, small jellyfish that don’t sting when you touch them. I also saw tons of tiny baitfish. It was beautiful. After I dropped Sheyla off I put Orrin down for a nap and put away laundry. The Nortons came back out in the evening to sail around Peanut Island with us. We saw a fisherman catch a big fish. It looked like a yummy dinner. We met a couple from France that just got done crossing the Atlantic in a boat that is smaller then ours. They have family here and will work through the hurricane season then head south to Costa Rica. We told them we also planned to go there next fall. We hope to have them over soon to take a look at our boat and give us advice.

May 13, 2009

Today I got a ride from Sheyla Norton to Meghan Shurtz house to use the Relief Society’s sewing machine. I am sewing a shade cover that came with the boat but doesn’t fit the boat. Barry worked most of the day helping Marcelo with a huge remodeling job, then came and picked up the kids and I to head back to the boat to grab his scout uniform and measure and mark the shade cover I was working on. When we got to Phil Foster Park there were all kinds of cop cars and helicopters and ambulances. There was some kind of accident with a capsized boat and illegal immigrants. The sheriffs said they were bringing in a lot of dead bodies, and they wouldn’t let us in at first to get our dinghy. We explained that we live on a boat and moving our dinghy off the dock would get it out of the way. They made a few phone calls and then let us through. I moved the dinghy quick and picked Barry and the kids up at the east bridge. We were only at the boat for a short time then left for scouts. We picked the sewing machine up from Meghan’s house so I could continue working while the kids played in the nursery. We are making great progress and Barry is going to get some insulation board from the work site he is working on to help bring the noise of the engine down.

About Trisha Perkins

Hi, my name is Trisha Perkins. I was born in St. George Ut, and raised in many different places. California, Texas, Panama, North Carolina, and Utah have all been home for me. My family moved back to St. George Ut after my father left the army. I was home schooled most of my school years, then enrolled for long distance schooling from an accredited high school. I taught gymnastics and swimming for 3 years. Then I realized I wanted to learn more about children, because I didn't know enough about them and I wanted to be prepared for motherhood. I taught montessori preschool for one year, then I went to a summer camp in New Mexico to teach horse back riding. Now I have to back up a little. A couple of my friends had gone to this same summer camp to teach the year before and one of their friends from camp tagged along with them back to St. George. Here enters the Pioneer. My life would never be the same. I tapped into a soul that I didn't know the voltage of. I met Barry Perkins. He proposed to me while scuba diving off of the Californa coast. We were married in the St. George temple on October 16th 2004. We have always wanted to give our children the best education. Leadership education! We wanted to travel and let them experience different cultures and countries and read great books and be a united family. So here we are starting off on a journey of a lifetime.

6 responses »

  1. Karina says:

    OMGosh, every day is such an adventure! How do you do it? That’s so awesome! Good thing you have good kids too 🙂

  2. Doug Valley says:

    Hey, sounds like you guys are having fun. The high water at Keystone is now back to normal. We lost 8 slips in the Easter Sunday storm. The old slips out at the end of the dock tore apart. So now my marina is full! What a blessing. Wish I still had 8 slips to rent.

    My Daughter and husband have moved back to Stillwater bringing my 2 Grand daughters. They are getting a lot of Grandpa time. It’s great. I am going out with Michael Bartley tomorrow to sail the Chrysler you guys fixed up. He needs a few more lessons.

    Send me an email when you get a chance and say “Hi” to the kids for me.

    Love you guys,

    Doug

  3. Caralluma says:

    Nice touches on your writing. Is English your primary language (if you don’t mind me asking).

    • Trisha Perkins says:

      Yes, English is my primary language. In fact, it is the only language I know well. I am still working on Spanish. How did you find our site? Are you sailing also?

  4. This seems to be a very friendly place unlike some of the other blogs I visit.

    • Trisha Perkins says:

      Thank you! I appreciate the compliment. We are trying to be good examples for our children in the way we act and talk. I am glad that it is reflected in our stories as well. If you have any questions about our adventures feel free to ask. Trisha

Leave a Reply

