Don’t worry it isn’t our boat.

 We woke up this morning and Barry poked his head out of the hatch and looked around and a boat named “Jamaican Fairwell ” that is anchored close to us was in the process of taking on water and sinking.  

 Barry took action boarded her and started dumping buckets of water into the cockpit (which drains out of the boat).  The water was thigh deep.  Not knowing how fast the water was leaking into the boat Barry came back to our boat and grabbed our bilge pump and a better bucket and the children and I, and went back over to continue the rescue.  

As we are climbing on the sinking boat we kind of chuckled because normally  a person would try to avoid getting on a boat that was sinking.

 After Barry hooked up the bilge pump and got water flowing out of the boat he left me and the kids and ran over to the nearest marine store and bought a bigger bilge pump, then returned in quick fashion.

A gentle man from a nearby catamaran stopped over to see if we needed help and called the coast guard for us to report the sinking boat.  Then shortly after the radio call went out a Sea Tow boat came over to check things out.  We had everything under control by this point and Barry found and stopped the leak.

Through out this whole process it was clearly obvious that no one was going to do anything and this boat was going down if something wasn’t done.  No one seems to care out here.  The boats that are owned, and anchored around us are privately owned, and nobody else’s business.  If they sink, they sink, and if you touch them you might be blamed for sinking it.  

“Jamaican Fairwell”is a beautiful boat. Nicer then ours and we didn’t have the heart to watch something like that sink.  In the end the owner was grateful for our actions.

We also recovered Barry’s lost phone which was damaged.  The sim card was still good though and we were able to get a cheap phone to do the job.  

We then retrieved a voicemail that was left on Saturday (when the phone was lost) by the Hopsons telling us about a sinking boat. So it seems the “Jamaican Fairwell” has been sinking for a couple days and we were just in time.

About Trisha Perkins

Hi, my name is Trisha Perkins. I was born in St. George Ut, and raised in many different places. California, Texas, Panama, North Carolina, and Utah have all been home for me. My family moved back to St. George Ut after my father left the army. I was home schooled most of my school years, then enrolled for long distance schooling from an accredited high school. I taught gymnastics and swimming for 3 years. Then I realized I wanted to learn more about children, because I didn't know enough about them and I wanted to be prepared for motherhood. I taught montessori preschool for one year, then I went to a summer camp in New Mexico to teach horse back riding. Now I have to back up a little. A couple of my friends had gone to this same summer camp to teach the year before and one of their friends from camp tagged along with them back to St. George. Here enters the Pioneer. My life would never be the same. I tapped into a soul that I didn't know the voltage of. I met Barry Perkins. He proposed to me while scuba diving off of the Californa coast. We were married in the St. George temple on October 16th 2004. We have always wanted to give our children the best education. Leadership education! We wanted to travel and let them experience different cultures and countries and read great books and be a united family. So here we are starting off on a journey of a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

