On Monday after we saved Jamaican Fairwell from sinking, a company called Lagoon keepers went and put a new battery on the boat and we called them to find out what was going on. Lagoon Keepers had past dealings with the owner of Jamaican Fairwell before so we asked them to have the owner call us out of courtesy. We wanted to find out if the owner was interested in selling Jamaican Fairwell. The owner called us back and sure enough he wanted to get the boat off of his hands. He said he was willing to let it go for $5,000, which is the same amount that we are paying for the boat we are in now.

We have made the decision to buy Jamaican Fairwell and sell our Ohlson 38’. This is a big change for us. Yesterday Barry and the owner shook hands and we will sign a promissory note on Monday. On Tuesday, two sets of missionaries are coming over to give some service and help us clean both boats out. We will tie them both up to the dock and start scrubbing away.

You may wonder why we are moving on to the boat that so recently was sinking. Well it was sinking because of the stuffing box. Every boat that has an inboard motor has a stuffing box and this one wiggled into the wrong position and slowly let in water. If there is someone on a boat once in a while to check for things they will catch problem that arise.

Now I will tell you a little about Jamaican Fairwell. It has a motor that when flushed will probably run just fine. It has a double sink. (Right now I only have a small single sink). It has a fridge (The motor might have to be replaced but it has a place for it.) It has a place for air conditioning. It has a plumbed toilet! It has a shower with a hot water heater (big plus). It has a safe propane stove that is up to code. It has a roller furling sail.

In many ways it gets us much closer to sailing and our goals. There are a few items that will need replaced or fixed, like the toe rail on the port (Left ) side. We will look into fixing the wind generator that is on it, and batteries will need to be replaced that are too old.

All said and done things are turning for the better. We have put our Ohlson up for sale and will use the money off of it to pay down our new boat.

About Trisha Perkins

Hi, my name is Trisha Perkins. I was born in St. George Ut, and raised in many different places. California, Texas, Panama, North Carolina, and Utah have all been home for me. My family moved back to St. George Ut after my father left the army. I was home schooled most of my school years, then enrolled for long distance schooling from an accredited high school. I taught gymnastics and swimming for 3 years. Then I realized I wanted to learn more about children, because I didn't know enough about them and I wanted to be prepared for motherhood. I taught montessori preschool for one year, then I went to a summer camp in New Mexico to teach horse back riding. Now I have to back up a little. A couple of my friends had gone to this same summer camp to teach the year before and one of their friends from camp tagged along with them back to St. George. Here enters the Pioneer. My life would never be the same. I tapped into a soul that I didn't know the voltage of. I met Barry Perkins. He proposed to me while scuba diving off of the Californa coast. We were married in the St. George temple on October 16th 2004. We have always wanted to give our children the best education. Leadership education! We wanted to travel and let them experience different cultures and countries and read great books and be a united family. So here we are starting off on a journey of a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

