Monday dawned bright and beautiful.  The start of a new day and Barry’s new job.  You might wonder what it means to have my husband go off to work and to stay home with the kids.  

Now if we lived a traditional lifestyle and stayed on dry land then having Barry go to work would be typical.  Living on a boat creates a different situation.  

My days go something like this:

  • Wake up, turn the propane on, cook breakfast, turn propane off.
  • Put life jackets on kids and load them in dinghy, put garbage in dinghy, drop Barry off at the dock for work
  • Motor back to the boat, help the kids climb back in, tidy up and pack a lunch(if I am on top of it I will have it ready before I drop Barry of).
  • I will pick somewhere different to play depending on the day, fill the motor on the dinghy up with gas, load the kids back into the dinghy, then motor there, have a blast playing hard, and teaching my kids different things, and motor back when done .
  • Hang up the solar shower, pull out the ice chest we keep in the cock pit(I use it as a tub for the kids) and bath my precious munchkins, and yours truly.
  • Turn propane on, cook dinner, then turn propane off(we wouldn’t have to keep turning it on and off if we didn’t have a slow leak and had a vent/fan for the bilge/bottom of the boat.)
  • Barry calls when he gets to Phil Foster Park and I put the life jackets back on the kids, grab the bow light and the stern light, empty the one of our 7 gallon water jugs into the water tank,then motor over to the dock to pick him up and refill the water, then it is back home and to bed.
  • Yes we do have cell phones to call each other in case of an emergency.

This is all fine and dandy but sometimes the wind is blowing like crazy and it creates this thing in the water called chop. This is the not dandy part. Your probably asking why I am ok with this, right?  

Well, in a way it is nice to have responsibility beyond changing the diapers and being princess Aurora all the time.  I need to know how to take care of myself and the kids and the boat, if I really want to sail around the world. Do I really want to sail around the world? Yes! Final answer.

I am thriving and excited about what we are doing. I am learning new things all the time. I love being on the water. I feel like I am beginning to live my purpose and prepare myself for the unknown, and uncertain future. I am tired, and ready to sleep at the end of a rewarding day,

About Trisha Perkins

Hi, my name is Trisha Perkins. I was born in St. George Ut, and raised in many different places. California, Texas, Panama, North Carolina, and Utah have all been home for me. My family moved back to St. George Ut after my father left the army. I was home schooled most of my school years, then enrolled for long distance schooling from an accredited high school. I taught gymnastics and swimming for 3 years. Then I realized I wanted to learn more about children, because I didn't know enough about them and I wanted to be prepared for motherhood. I taught montessori preschool for one year, then I went to a summer camp in New Mexico to teach horse back riding. Now I have to back up a little. A couple of my friends had gone to this same summer camp to teach the year before and one of their friends from camp tagged along with them back to St. George. Here enters the Pioneer. My life would never be the same. I tapped into a soul that I didn't know the voltage of. I met Barry Perkins. He proposed to me while scuba diving off of the Californa coast. We were married in the St. George temple on October 16th 2004. We have always wanted to give our children the best education. Leadership education! We wanted to travel and let them experience different cultures and countries and read great books and be a united family. So here we are starting off on a journey of a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

