Today was a big day for us. I spent most of the time today on shore playing with the kids. Barry was getting ready to take the engine out of the boat and he got a call from Captain Jeffery, a man Barry had met and talked to about our different struggles with the boat.

Jeffery owns and sails a couple boats, and he said he could fix the engine we had for a lot cheaper than buying a new one. He took Barry’s number and said he would call. Well he called today right as Barry was working on getting the engine out.

We decided to give it a shot. It we feel like we still can’t trust it (the engine) when all is said and done, then we will sell it to offset the cost of the new one.

Jeffery came and helped Barry take the engine out and lift it will our boom, then swing it out, over, and down into Jeffery’s dingy. They then took it over to a marina and they got it lifted into the back of the truck and took it to Captain Jeffery’s house.

He and Barry worked on it until later in the evening while I took the kids to the local library. Melody and I are reading books about Lions and safari animals. There is a Safari place by the airport that I am planning on taking the kids to next month and we are reading up on the different kinds of animals we will find. Melody is really excited.

We are all safe and sound and still having fun. The boat keeps looking better and better every day, and after playing hard all day Melody said “Mom I am ready to go home to our boat.”

About Trisha Perkins

Hi, my name is Trisha Perkins. I was born in St. George Ut, and raised in many different places. California, Texas, Panama, North Carolina, and Utah have all been home for me. My family moved back to St. George Ut after my father left the army. I was home schooled most of my school years, then enrolled for long distance schooling from an accredited high school. I taught gymnastics and swimming for 3 years. Then I realized I wanted to learn more about children, because I didn't know enough about them and I wanted to be prepared for motherhood. I taught montessori preschool for one year, then I went to a summer camp in New Mexico to teach horse back riding. Now I have to back up a little. A couple of my friends had gone to this same summer camp to teach the year before and one of their friends from camp tagged along with them back to St. George. Here enters the Pioneer. My life would never be the same. I tapped into a soul that I didn't know the voltage of. I met Barry Perkins. He proposed to me while scuba diving off of the Californa coast. We were married in the St. George temple on October 16th 2004. We have always wanted to give our children the best education. Leadership education! We wanted to travel and let them experience different cultures and countries and read great books and be a united family. So here we are starting off on a journey of a lifetime.

One response »

  1. Did Captain Jeffery have a peg leg, a beard, and a pipe? Hee hee. Trisha, post some pics of your adventures!

Leave a Reply

