Today the kids and I went to Peanut Island again. This time we went to the West side and tied up the dinghy at the dock.

We went swimming in the ocean and showered off by the restrooms. We had our lunch at the picnic table and walked around to the south side of the island. There is some great snorkeling there but it was time for us to go back to the boat.

Barry spent the day working on the electrical nest on the boat. Then we motored over to our neighbors boat and talked for a while. His name is Archie, and his boat’s name is Janey. He has been living on his boat for at least three years. He has a really nice boat. It is kind of depressing to come back home to ours. It did give us some good ideas though.

We then took a trip over to the Thursday night fair at Sailfish Marina. Melody and Orrin had fun watching a gentleman and his parrots. They got to hold some of them but we didn’t get any pictures. I guess we will have to go back again. The kids did really well and stayed calm. I was especially proud of Orrin.

On the way back home we went under the bridge on the east side of Phil Foster Park we ran into a fisherman’s line and it got all tangled up in the propeller of our engine. Barry had to kill the engine and cut the line, but it wouldn’t restart.

By this time we were drifting back under the bridge so Barry stood up (he could touch the bridge) and pulled us/scooted us back to the front of the bridge and jumped /climbed onto the bridge and pulled the dinghy over to the sea wall and tied us up while he took the motor off and went on top of the bridge where there was light to get the line untangled from the propeller.

In the process he borrowed Billy’s craftsmen tool and broke it. (Billy is a fisherman who is on the bridge every night. And Barry sees him when he parks the truck.) It was a piece of crap anyway.

When we got back to our boat. Barry took the engine off the dinghy for the night and there was more line in the propeller. We decided to not go under the bridge on the east side anymore.

About Trisha Perkins

Hi, my name is Trisha Perkins. I was born in St. George Ut, and raised in many different places. California, Texas, Panama, North Carolina, and Utah have all been home for me. My family moved back to St. George Ut after my father left the army. I was home schooled most of my school years, then enrolled for long distance schooling from an accredited high school. I taught gymnastics and swimming for 3 years. Then I realized I wanted to learn more about children, because I didn't know enough about them and I wanted to be prepared for motherhood. I taught montessori preschool for one year, then I went to a summer camp in New Mexico to teach horse back riding. Now I have to back up a little. A couple of my friends had gone to this same summer camp to teach the year before and one of their friends from camp tagged along with them back to St. George. Here enters the Pioneer. My life would never be the same. I tapped into a soul that I didn't know the voltage of. I met Barry Perkins. He proposed to me while scuba diving off of the Californa coast. We were married in the St. George temple on October 16th 2004. We have always wanted to give our children the best education. Leadership education! We wanted to travel and let them experience different cultures and countries and read great books and be a united family. So here we are starting off on a journey of a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

